• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
DanDannyPantry

OpenGL Isometricity.. if that's even a word.

This topic is 2585 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello GameDev.net :)

Right now I'm working on a small project which basically involves reading in binary data from a file and then interpreting that to draw an isometric, tiled world on screen - right now I'm having issues with the creation of said tiled world. I can draw a single tile fine but I have no idea how to use maths to translate the tiles into their appropriate positions. I'm pretty new to OpenGL and wanted to pick a simple game to start with (kinda missed the mark there).
Anyway, I was wondering if you can help. What I do is, as I read in the map file, I create MapTile objects which contain the info in the file (id, flags) and then draw the tile accordingly by invoking render() on it. The code for the MapTile class is below. A few things to note: I cannot change the arguments of the render() function or the underlying interface that gives it to the MapTile class. The class is as follows:

package com.lorichon.maps;

import java.io.IOException;

import org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11;
import org.newdawn.slick.opengl.Texture;

import com.lorichon.controllers.ResourceLoader;
import com.lorichon.templates.RenderableObject;

/**
* Represents a Map Tile.
* @author Dan
*/
public class MapTile implements RenderableObject {
public static final int TILE_GRASS =0x00;

public static final int FLAGS_NONE =0x00;
public static final int FLAGS_WATER =0x01;

public static final String TEXTURE_TILE_GRASS = "assets/images/tile_grass.png";

private short m_tileId;
private short m_flags;

private String m_texture;

/**
* Creates a MapTile with the given ID and flags.
* @param id
* @param flags
*/
public MapTile(short id, short flags) {
m_tileId = id;
m_flags = flags;
switch(id) {