• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Deadlybones

Trouble getting boost C++ to work

This topic is 2587 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello there. I've been trying to get boost to work so I can use boost multi array(so I don't need to build it or anything). I downloaded an installer from boostpro and downloaded boost with that. I can't seem to get the library working though. I'm not really experienced with the inner workings of IDEs and such...the problem is that I don't know how to link the library to my project. I can't seem to follow the tutorial on the boost website either as mine seems slightly different(perhaps that's the installer's fault?). Anyways, here's where it is on my PC:

C:\Program Files(x86)\boost\boost_1_47\

Apparently inside of that there is supposed to be a lib file and also a libs file. I see the libs file but there is no lib file. I assume that this is the file called boost inside which has all the header files and such. Could someone explain the step-by-step process to get this to work? After some google searching I followed a "tutorial" which told me I only needed to set the VC++ directory include so I set it to C:\Program Files(x86)\boost\boost_1_47\. I'm not sure if that is the right folder I'm supposed to link it to and I'm not sure what else I'm supposed to do to get it to work.

Thanks.

Advertisement
Most of Boost is header-only, so putting Program Files(x86)\boost\boost_1_47\ in your include path will make all of those work. A few things, like Boost.Thread, need the library to link against. If you don't need these, you're good to go. If you don't have the lib subdirectory, then you'll want to follow one of the options in section 5 of the 'Getting Started' guide.