• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
AsimmHirani

Starting Out (almost)

This topic is 2588 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have been programming for about 2 years now, I am used to OOP and compiled code as opposed to interpreted scripts (though I will use perl and python on a regular basis). I have dabbled in game development using C# and XNA but it turned out that I was either a very bad programmer or C# was not my style. I want to keep C++ and asm for my game development as well. The reason why I am posting is that there appears to be little community (or web) help for directx graphics and sound programming. Even though I am good at C++ in general, I don't know the graphics aspect of C++ and would like to learn (preferably without a book) how to do it.

Advertisement
C++ doesn't have a graphics aspect (I can't think of a programming language that does). You access graphics hardware through a library's API. At the lowest level, most graphics cards expose their capabilities through either DirectX or OpenGL (or extensions for these). However, these APIs will be tricky for a beginner -- it will be a much smoother process to use a higher-level library that is built on top of them (like SFML or SDL). I highly recommend making several 2D games before trying your hand at 3D.