• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Spencer_Holmes

OpenGL Difficulty linking the system32 folder in visual studio 2010

This topic is 2579 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello. I am a lecturer in computer games development at college level. I am about to teach my students opengl. I have linked visual studio 2010 to the include and lib folders for the opengl .h and .lib needed files but I cannot add the needed files to the system32 folder on the college network because it administrator passworded. The problem is without adding the .dll files to the system32 folder I wont be able t work n opengl with them. I was wondering however, is there someone out there who knows how, in visual studio 2010, I can point it to another folder which isnt administrator passworded and put the files in there to use?

You help would be very much appreciated!

Thank you

S

Advertisement
I believe that the only needed files in the system32 folder are "opengl.dll" and glu32.dll", both of which are included with the Windows installation. You shouldn't have to link to anything in that folder.

All I do to use GL in a project is to go the Project Properties in the Project menu and then Configuration Properties->Linker->Input and add "OpenGL32.lib" (and if using, "glu32.lib" and "glew32.lib") to the Additional Dependencies field. Of course, making sure to add the lib and header directories.

Any dll in the Windows folder is loaded at start up and any other dll should be put in your project's folder.

[size=2]The .dll files I need access to which are in the system32 folder are: glu32.dll, glut.dll, glut32.dll, opengl32.dll. So do you think if I put the previous four files in the project folder the program will compile and their will be no need to add them to the system32 folder?

Thank you