• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
zChrisse

2D collision

This topic is 2586 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Im a beginner in 2d game making so bare with me.

My idea for detecting which way a object collide with another object is to save to previous coordinates of the colliding objject and then subtract the old ones from the new ones. If x is below zero and y is zero the object came from right.

What do you thing of this solution? Is it viable. Am i on the right track?

And also my math skilla are very weak :)

Using xna 4

Advertisement
While your method may work for basic collisions, a more sophisticated (but still easily implemented with AABB's (Axis Aligned Bounding Boxes) exists.
This problem is usually approached in this way: When two objects are overlapping each other, the penetration vector is taken (the distance that one object is inside the other), and the two objects are separated by this amount. Then one can tell which side of the objects are colliding.

This is one of the best tutorials on the web for this:
http://www.metanetsoftware.com/technique/tutorialA.html

And if you haven't already, do some research on bounding volumes to reduce collision complexity:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bounding_volume

I also very much like this primer to physics engines from Wildbunny. While the math is more complex it helps you transition to using it, and gets you to understand how you would build a 2D collision system. It gets you from coding collision checks in a naive manner to producing code that is more versatile and flexible.

If you want, take a look at my blog (in my sig). I built a game that used a 2d physics engine (chipmunk-physics). Go through the posts from the start, and you can see how I integrate it into the game.

Let me just say, using a physics engine makes writing 2d games a snap.