• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Supernovae

List of reading. Please suggest or comment.

This topic is 2566 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello

I'm new to C++ and i have been looking for books to learn more about c++ and game programming.

Here is my goal:
To create prodecural world with countries that the player can manage, it would be done some what same way as infinity quest for earth, but much smaller scale.

So i would like people to suggest what books i need in order to accomplish this. Here is my current list, in reading order:

1. Accelerated C++: Practical Programming by Example
2. C++ Primer 3rd Edition: Stanley Lippman
3. Texturing and Modeling, Third Edition: A Procedural Approach
4. C++ Algorithms 3rd Edition by Robert Sedgewick
5. he C++ Standard Library Tutorial and Reference from Nicolai Josuttis
and finally
6. The C++ Programming Language: Special Edition

HUH! thats alot of stuff to learn. My concern is that i will be programming for windows platform and useing directx, should i get some book about those?

Pleas help and thank you inadvance!

Advertisement
I generally don't like the idea of "By Example" books, as they normally focus more on the code itself, and explaining their code, rather than putting focus on explaining the concepts behind their code. The latter is what's important, as it makes the user solve the problems themselves, which is what's actually important in programming. With that said, there are some exceptions where they first explain the concept(s) then follow up with some example code (i.e. Programming Game AI By Example).

You don't need that many C++ books, pick one from (1, 2) and maybe add 5 (but 1 or 2 should cover enough of that to get you going), and ignore 6 entirely.