• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
pyroevil

Particles self-collision algorythm

This topic is 2570 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all !

I'm new on the forum and sorry for my poor english.

I'm starting to play with python and particles physics for fun. I'm not a hardcore coder/developper , I never study in that and I'm learning by myself.
I did with python and Blender a verlet integration and I want to do self-collision. It's take a lot of processing time when you compare each particles
between each other particles at each substep.This "brute force" method take 3sec for 1000particles ... 48sec for 4096 .... and it's growing up exponentialy
like that more I add particles and it's normal.

I start to check for kd-tree or octree. This algorythm if fast to find neighbours and I have to compare less particles for distance and if a collision occur.
I find a simple kdtree implementation in python and I'm starting to playwith it.

But because I move particles several time in a substep to satisfy different constraint/collision. For that I need to modify particlesposiitions informations
in the tree. But I read than modify a kdtree and keep it balanced is very hard. I need to regenerate de kdtree for each particles move ( if I have
1000 particles ... it's 1000times to regen the kdtree ). It's not very efficient... probably not more then brute force medthod.

Octree is more faster/simpler/efficient for dynamic objets ? But I not finding a working octree example in python.

Better algorythm exist for that ?

My only solution for now is to continu to use kd-tree but enlarge search-neighbourg radius to compensate for the mist of sync between kdtree data
generate only at beginning or end of substep and the real currently position of particles in the substep.

here is a video of what I'm truing to do :