• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
aziz_light

I want to make a game

This topic is 2563 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everybody,

I am a web developer, I know Ruby and PHP. I also know C and Java. I recently decided that I wanted to make a game. An RPG, hack-n-slash, Diablo II-like type of game to be more specific. I am not interested in 3D rendering, I want to make games in what I believe is called "isometric 2D", like Diablo II.

The problem is that I don't know where to begin; I don't even know how game development works. Ideally, I would like to use one or several of my programming skills (except PHP); Also I do not want to use C++ (I don't know C++ and I don't really want to learn it at the moment).

I know (think) it would be unrealistic to aim to make an RPG as a first game (tell me if I'm wrong), so I would like to start by creating a something simpler, following a tutorial for instance. So what "tools" should I use?

What game engine should I use? (I don't mind if the game engine is commercial and reasonably priced)

Where should I start?

Advertisement
If you wish to go in the way of the programmer, my personal suggestion is to start with Java since you already know it, and it will most likely prove a lot more productive than C at the moment. However, if you do start off with C, you have a wide array of libraries to choose from such as the native Win32 API for windows, SDL, Allegro, and all that good stuff. For Java, most of these are a standard part of the language so it would be preferable that you don't have to worry about which libraries you use for now, and focus more on creating the games.