• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

The big question: openGL or DirectX

This topic is 2263 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi

This might be in the wrong section of the forum.. Since I have programming experience. Just not a lot of experience with Win32 , openGL & DirectX.

Now I'm going to write my own game engine with 3D Level Edtior. The only problem that I have is, I don't know what will suit the best for me openGL or DX. I know opengl is crossplatform and you can run it on consoles and directx not except for the xbox. So that's not the problem. It's the efficiency problem. I don't want a slow engine. Always when I see openGL on the internet it looks slow and crappy... (I never said that it is slow & crappy, I'm asking you..)

Since I am studying game development now I'd like to use my own models etc in my game. But I am only In my first year and I can't wait to go to the second year. cause then we have to make our own engine. But I'm always a bit ahead on programming so I wanna make one already.

Things why I should and shouldn't use DX

Should:
  • Very nice GFX
  • Most games these day use it
  • Industry standard
    Shouldn't
    • Only few tutorials available
    • Huge amount of work to get just a single window on your screen..
    • Can't find any good resources to get a good start
      Things why I should and shouldn't use openGL

Should:
      • Much tutorials for openGL 2
      • Not a huge amount of work to get a openGL 2 window on your screen
        Shouldn't
        • openGL 4 tutorials, found just one tutorial... That's not enough
        • No resources how to use it with OOP C++
          Now if I choose DX what version should I take and if I choose openGL what version should I take then?