• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
seansps

Best way to go about a 2d isometric shooter?

This topic is 2502 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all,

I know this is a loaded question but any pointers would be appreciated...
I'm new to game coding (but not new to C++ or C coding) and instead of starting off with a platformer, I'd like to do a sort of 2D shooter in an isometric style.
I don't want it to be jagged motions of up, down, left, right, diagonal... I want fluid controls (think like Grand Theft Auto 1) but I want the art to be in an isometric style. Is this even achievable?
Since I have no experience in 3D game coding... that's probably off limits... but I know that it could be easier to do it in a 3D engine.

I was thinking doing it with SFML/C++. (Perhaps I should do SDL instead?)

How would you go about it? Perhaps there are open source games/engines that you can recommend that I look at for ideas on implementation? Personally, I'm having trouble imagining how to implement a game with an isometric grid and fluid motion (allowing for more than one entity to be on the same spot in the grid, aiming in any direction with the mouse, etc.) Any suggestions on how to go about implementing an isometric grid for this kind of game would be valued too.

Or perhaps maybe isometric is not the way to go?

Advertisement
Hi there!
One thing you can think about is just having a Isometric art style but all of your entities are based on a straight XY grid.

You could even have prerendered worlds with really beautiful graphics pretty easily by doing this.

I ended up trying to program a free form movement method in my isometric game I am developing and it became a pain in the neck when dealing with collisions and a dynamically changing world.