Betting into the Theory

Started by
5 comments, last by alh420 12 years, 4 months ago
[Saw that the Title is wrong... wanted to say "Getting into the Theory" sry!]

Good Day everyone,

This is my first Post in this Forum and Im really excited about the upcoming experience with Game Development.

To myself:
I am an Apprentice for Application Development in the young years (22).
Im a Advanced Java Developer for Enterprise Applications and got Experience with Frameworks like Spring, Dynamic Web Projects and Database related Projects. Because of upcoming Job changes I need to learn how to use LWJGL to create simple 3D Applications. I havent used my Math Knowledge for ages... and I looked into some LWJGL tutorials. What I found out is that there are sooooo many Functions and Objects which I cant think about what they are good for. I think the Problem is that most keywords are unknown to me and I am lacking alot of knowledge in Computer Graphics Theory.

What I need from you:
Actually the only thing I know is about Linear Algebra. I am pretty handy with this stuff and It's not a big deal for me to calculate or play with it. Still I can't imagine how all the stuff comes together in an 3D Application. I am looking for a really decend Tutorial or Book which explains common used Methods for 3D Programming. I could not find any good Tutorials online yet which were detailed enough for me.
Can anyone give me a nice tip about the Theory behind Graphics Programming?

Best Regards
Van Schlacht

Follow my hobby projects:

Ognarion Commander (Java/LIBGDX): https://github.com/OlafVanSchlacht/ognarion-commander

Advertisement
For a simple 3D application, the linear algebra you need is really minimal, and mostly trival stuff like positioning something in the 3d coordinate system and move it around.
And you probably shouldn't dig too deep into the low level stuff, just yet, and get too confused by the huge field of computer graphics.