• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
cryothic

[XNA] Best practice for starters?

This topic is 2519 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all,

I've just started playing with XNA for a bit (WebDeveloper by profession), and just read some tutorials.

One thing I hate, but still see in most beginner-tutorials, is that they all just use the Game class to do all the work.
They make a class variable for a texture, and move it around, all in the same class. So, first thing I wanted to do, is follow a beginner tutorial, and try to "refactor" it a bit.

I've made a player.cs class. (I know, not the best name, but it's just for learning now ;))
In the constructor, if pass through a ContentName, and a reference to the game object itself (so I could make use of the ContentManager etc).

I've also made some movement classes. But there is where the problem appears...
How do I check if this sprite doesn't leave the viewport?

I can't get access to ((Game)Game1).graphics, so I can't get access to the preferredBackBufferHeight/Width.

What is the most efficient way to get access to this info?
Passing screenheight/width for every instance would be a bad thing.
And passing the GraphicsManager didn't seem to work.

Or should I create a GraphicsManager in this class? This might be very costly in runtime when there are a lot of instances, of am I wrong?

Some code to make things maybe a little more clearer:
Game1.cs

public class Game1 : Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game
{
GraphicsDeviceManager graphics;
SpriteBatch spriteBatch;

Player myPlayer;

public Game1()
{
graphics = new GraphicsDeviceManager(this);
Content.RootDirectory = "Content";
}

protected override void Initialize()
{
myPlayer = new Player("Player", this);
base.Initialize();
}

Player.cs

public class Player
{
private Vector2 _position = new Vector2(0, 0);