• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
JesseStruyvelt

Game Engine, based on a pattern..

This topic is 2523 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there all.

Since I started to write my own game engine I have encoutered much problems.. (I'm studying gamedev, therefore I was a webdeveloper).

And I'm asking myself the question if it would be possible to use the MVC (Model-View-Control) structure for getting an OpenGL Game Engine. Since I'm used to it to make MVC frameworks.
A game engine is just a framework that handles the user's code, and renders it to the screen? So basically and MVC would be just right for a game engine?

Model – Gameplay (game entities, eg. Player, Weapons)
View – Rendering
Controller – Input and non-gameplay flow (menu’s etc)

What do you guys think? Advising me anything else?

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

And I'm asking myself the question if it would be possible to use the MVC (Model-View-Control) structure for getting an OpenGL Game Engine. Since I'm used to it to make MVC frameworks.
A game engine is just a framework that handles the user's code, and renders it to the screen? So basically and MVC would be just right for a game engine?

I suspect you'll find that everyone's definition of a game engine is likely somewhat different, but in my experience, a game engine is a collection of heterogeneous frameworks for handling one specific module of work (rendering, file i/o, events, physics simulations, sound, networking). An engine goes beyond a "framework" where it actually connects there different frameworks together in order to deliver a solution to a problem. Depending upon your generalization and use of abstraction, you may be able to buy the use of an engine for various games, but typically an engine is more specific than that and typically applies to a small subset of genre-like games.