• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Napivo

Where can I start (3D math)

This topic is 2551 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am pretty well accomplished in 2d math. I have written several games but 3D math I never learned.

I am thinking along the lines:

Given a quad and a normal how to calculate the counter-clockwise triangles.
How to calculate if 2 quads or triangles intersect.
How to calculate a bounding rectangle and sphere of an object.

I am a real newbie at this, I can't even understand most of the formula's I find on-line.
I have taught myself everything about programming and most things I know about math but now I don't even know where to begin. what basics I need nor where to find them

Thanks for any help

Advertisement
Here are a couple of things I use all the time and find very useful.

Dot Product
given two vectors a and b the dot product is defined as follows

length(a) * length(b) * cos(angleBetweenAandB) = a[sub]x[/sub] * b[sub]x[/sub] + a[sub]y[/sub] * b[sub]y[/sub] + a[sub]z[/sub] * b[sub]z[/sub] = a dot b
[sub]
[/sub]
The dot product is very useful. You can use it to find the angle between two vectors
angle = acos(a dot b) / (length(a) * length(b))

You can also use this to find what is called vector projection.
300px-Dot_Product.svg.png

In the diagram above. A is projected onto B resulting in the part labeled |A|cos [font="sans-serif"]?[/font] . To find the projection vector, I will call it c, we do the following
c = b * (a dot b) / (b dot b)
This has many uses. You can use this to find where a point is closest to a line. It is used frequently in overlap detection algorithms like you want to do between triangles and quads.

Cross Product
given two vectors a and b. The cross of them is the vector perpendicular to both a and b and is defined as