• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
martiniwanowski

How do I design my game engine?

This topic is 2544 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,

Quick intro
I'm currently learning Python + Django, moving from previous experiences with PHP + Zend Framework and CodeIgniter. I have rather long experience with JavaScript and CSS, but
I am by no means a software engineer, rather a hobbyist with no professional education under my belt.

I'm working on a browser based game, a'la MOBA fashion. Utilizing a homemade - albeit simple - JavaScript+CSS "replay" game engine where I basically move images and display event text according to a complete text file. The text file is a "match protocol" which is in fully generated behind the scenes and then downloaded. There's no real-time streaming or such involved, and no networking. The events such as move, attack and so forth are based on time.

The problem
The behind-the-scene match generation is what I'm looking at now. Basically I want to simulate the battle rather than calculate a randomized-ish outcome. This way I can add (very) basic AI and treat the heroes as bots, in the future.

But how can I make my hero move from point A to B, and be sure I can start working on a new decision when it has arrived at a specific timestamp - when I know the main loop will take a different amount of time each loop. I can foresee this having major implications as the engine grows more complicated.

I was thinking I should divide each second into, ticks (I've read somewhere about this previously but I can be confusing this with some other technique), which I can then use to loop my game no matter how long each tick takes in time. Am I on the right track here or is there some other known technique I should be familiarized with?