• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
TTT_Dutch

Guidance Needed

This topic is 2550 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Preface: Well in the past I have made one game with SFML. It was a common "Pikin Sticks" clone. It only tooks me a weekend to make and it was very fun to make too! I had attempted to make a larger 3D game after that but failed due to complications in the Rendering system and not really having any knowledge of what makes up a 3D Game. I used and still would like to use C++ and OpenGL core profile (3.3).

First off, I have some knowledge about Shaders, Matrices/Vectors/Quaternions, and Windowing. Little knowledge about physics and model loading. And almost no knowledge about sound or networking. Also I don't know much about most data structures and almost nothing about algorithms. Do I need to learn these things? If so, what books/online resources/tutorials do you recommend I read to gain knowledge about these things? Do I need a book to learn about the components of a Game/Game Engine?

Secondly, I really want to make any game but should I make an engine or framework for it? Will that allow me to make other games easier since I have sort of a "Framework". I also really want to make 2D and 3D games easily with the same code (Maybe even move be able to go cross platform with the same code), how can I accomplish this?

Finally, should I use Xlib/WinAPI for windowing or should I just use a windowing library like SDL, GLFW, GTK, or SFML?

Thanks,
Brent

Advertisement