• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ace19

Fresh Start

This topic is 2542 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys. Another newbie here. I've programmed a bit before, but i've been putting off programming the past few months. This is mostly due to other things that need to be done and lack of motivation. Well i decided to try it one more time. I've programmed in Python before, and i've done so programming for a game using it's own scripting language. I've been thinking of either picking up Python again or moving to C#. The only reason i gave up on Python is because after following a tutorial, i hadn't really learnt anything. I was just following instructions then forgetting. Not forgetting completely. It was easy for me to edit and read code, but writing from scratch was tough.

Well this is where i need you help. How should i start learning again? I've found resources for C#, but i don't know how to start. I'm using this by the way: http://www.gamefromscratch.com/post/2011/08/04/I-want-to-be-a-game-developer.aspx#Csharp

So, how should i start? How should i learn? Thanks in advance guys!

Advertisement
That's a skill that would probably earn itself a title of "problem solving" if nothing else. It seems people don't have a problem when they are reminded about different features of the language while reading or editing code because they know them when they see them, the problem arises when someone tries to make a program for something and don't know how to break it down for the simple features of the language to pull it off or worse: they don't even know what the problem they're trying to solve is!