• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
smsundar

Using multiple Vertex Buffers

This topic is 2547 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi,
I'm a beginner to DX programming. I'm trying to implement multiple Vertex buffer to understand how the 3D Pipeline uses them. In this context I had a bunch of questions on the IA (Input Assembler stage) of DX10 & DX11
a) Theoretically it is possible to bind 16 (/32) vertex buffers to IA stage as per DX10 (/DX11) specs. As per the examples that I've come across till now only states that multiple Vertex Buffers (VB) are used only for different elements of a Vertex data (say 1 buffer for Position, 1 buffer for Texture, 1 buffer for normals etc..)? Is that true?

b) I'm trying to render multiple objects (say for example 2 triangles) with 2 Vertex buffers - Is this a valid usage model? Are there any restrictions in this usage. When I try doing this I do see only the 1st triangle being rendered & the 2nd triangle is not rendered!

Pasting below the code snippet
[color="#008000"][color="#008000"]// Define the input layout

D3D10_INPUT_ELEMENT_DESC layout[] =
{
{ [color="#a31515"][color="#a31515"]"POSITION", 0, DXGI_FORMAT_R32G32B32_FLOAT, 0, 0, D3D10_INPUT_PER_VERTEX_DATA, 0 },
};

UINT numElements = [color="#0000ff"][color="#0000ff"]sizeof( layout ) / [color="#0000ff"][color="#0000ff"]sizeof( layout[0] );

[color="#008000"][color="#008000"]// Create the input layout

D3D10_PASS_DESC PassDesc;

g_pTechnique->GetPassByIndex( 0 )->GetDesc( &PassDesc );

hr = g_pd3dDevice->CreateInputLayout(layout, numElements, PassDesc.pIAInputSignature,

PassDesc.IAInputSignatureSize, &g_pVertexLayout );

[color="#0000ff"][color="#0000ff"]if( FAILED( hr ) )

[color="#0000ff"][color="#0000ff"]return hr;

[color="#008000"][color="#008000"]// Set the input layout

g_pd3dDevice->IASetInputLayout( g_pVertexLayout );