• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
MarkS

I need some help with multiple lights and shadow mapping.

This topic is 2543 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am really new to GLSL. I just implemented normal mapping and multiple light sources. I'm working in a Checkers game and I need four lights (one in each corner) to light the board properly. I have the look I want, but I want the pieces to cast shadows. I would be happy with hard shadows, although soft shadows would be nice. Regardless, I can find little online dealing with one light source shadow mapping, much less multiple lights and what I can find either doesn't incorporate texturing, or doesn't include the C++ source with the shaders (what the heck is with Ozone3D anyway!?).

What I need is a good tutorial that explains how to implement this, but I am not finding any. Even if I could sit down and write the shader code without assistance, I don't have the slightest clue how to integrate it into my program.

Advertisement
Deferred shading is best for multiple lights
If you are sure that there will be always 4 lights than it is really easy to modify one light shader to multiple lights
There is only few things you should modify
- 4 depth textures
- 4 light matrices
- combine shadows: sum, distance based, light power...

I decided to simplify. I was able to reduce the light count to one by setting some of the light variables that I had forgotten to set. This brightened up the board and gave me the look I want. I looked into deferred shading and discounted it. It would be the best method, but not a good method to teach myself GLSL. It is rather advanced, possibly too advanced for what should be a rather simple project.

Sign in to follow this  

• Advertisement

Important Information