• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
glhf

Learning path to Game Developing?

This topic is 2536 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I want to create an mmorpg, But not like World of Warcraft.
It's just going to be an indy mmorpg that stays in beta for what might seem like forever... f2p ofcourse.
I've seen this done so many times where there's just a group of 2-4 that have created entire succesful mmorpgs.

I studied c++ before and I think I was pretty good and had a solid understanding of it until I came to multi threading etc.
I wanted to get some experience by creating a text based game instead of just doing the exercises from the c++ tutorials.
But I hate "wasting" my time doing meaningless games so I wanted to make a bigger first project and make a MUD instead.

But for this I would have to learn networking.. Which was a mistake I guess since now I had to learn about multi threading and networking at the same time.. since you need multi threading when doing networking (multiplayer).. It became too much advanced and complicated for me.

PLUS, I realised then that it's not so big difference between making a text based game and a graphical game. All I needed was to learn some WinAPI.. Now I was way over my head... like if I wasn't already.

I quit.

Later I found out about game maker engines that are extremely easy to use.
So with most of programming "outsourced" all I needed was graphics. I learned how to use programs like render3d and creating building and things like that but didn't learn how to implement them in the game. I later quit because it felt so stupid to use a game maker. Could make so much more professional game with a real engine.

So now I'm thinking of coming back again..
But I really don't wanna come back just to waste another 1-2 months of my life that I'll never get back tongue.png