• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
jeroenb

Unit testing

This topic is 2534 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a newbie concerning the use of unit testing in slightly bigger applications. I choose to use CxxTest as testing platform and have it running as a separate application unit testing some classes.

Currently I have several modules (dll's on Windows) of which some are exported but a lot of the classes in these modules are not exported, meaning I have no access from my external testing tool to them. However I still want to test several of these not exported classes without exporting them all. An option would be to write the exported tests in the module itself and try to link them in the test app. No idea however if CxxTest supports this.

I guess some of you might have faced the same problem. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to solve it.
Thanks a lot for reading!

Advertisement
Unit tests work in isolation. They test a single function. DLLs are *way* out of scope.

If such a function has dependencies, they are mocked with stubs or whatever, basically removing the dependency with something that is available and fully under control.

The rest falls under integration testing, since tests involve multiple systems (memory allocator, DLL, linker, processes, configurations). Unit testing frameworks are ill-suited for such tasks, since they need to cover special testing setup.

meaning I have no access from my external testing tool to them.[/quote]
Do you have the source code to this code? Include that.

I guess some of you might have faced the same problem. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to solve it.
Thanks a lot for reading!

Make a static library, which can be linked in to another project containing the tests.

Your dll would wrap this static library (and nothing more).