• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Rubicks

XNA or build my own engine?

This topic is 2534 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys and gals,

I'm a 4th year CSE student who has decided to make the plunge into basic game development. Throughout school I have learned the basics of C++, as well as diving heavily into java (last big class was creating simulator/assembler/linker for an assembly language using java). I know a lot of the technical ideas when dealing with data structures and algorithms, but I have no clue on where to start programming a game and have a couple questions.

1)I've had some people tell me I should start at the very beginning, writing my own engine, while others say XNA is the only way to go. I'm curious about what you guys think, being a large forum of game developers and not some college students who have made a few flash games.

2) As far as programming language, obviously I would use c# if I used XNA. Since I know java, I was thinking starting with C# would be a great idea for a programming language as well, since it is used pretty heavily (as far as I can tell).

3) Any good tutorials that don't start with hello world? I don't have a specific game in mind yet, I kind of just want to know the basics, like collision detection, creating 'characters' that can move around the screen, as well as general GUI/input issues that aren't commonly dealt with in 'regular' programming.

Thanks a lot for any advice!

Advertisement