• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Gavin Hill

Complete Beginner - Looking For Advice

This topic is 2540 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello,

I've looked around a bit on these forums and on Google and I just can't seem to find an answer to my questions. So, I decided to post this.

I am totally new to programming (no experience at all with any programming language) and I'm looking for a language that is right for someone who is an absolute beginner to programming. I have some experience with web design languages such as HTML, CSS, and Javascript, but I didn't think that would matter when it comes to video game programming.

All I'm asking for is someone to tell me a programming language that doesn't necessarily have to be centered around gaming (just something that will teach me the basics of programming), and is beginner-friendly. Also, once I learn that language (since it doesn't have to be used for gaming in particular), I'd like to know what language to move on to specifically for game programming.

Thanks,

-Gavin

Advertisement

Hello,

I've looked around a bit on these forums and on Google and I just can't seem to find an answer to my questions. So, I decided to post this.

I am totally new to programming (no experience at all with any programming language) and I'm looking for a language that is right for someone who is an absolute beginner to programming. I have some experience with web design languages such as HTML, CSS, and Javascript, but I didn't think that would matter when it comes to video game programming.