• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
irreversible

C++: programmer-chosen argument formatting conventions: pros, cons and implications

This topic is 2520 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This is a kind of a discussion that I've honestly looked into cannot see what the practical benefit of one over the other might be in a generic situation.

First off, I've been coding for something like 15 years. I don't have any hardcore industry experience, I don't have much experience working with others' codebases and I don't see myself as a professional programmer. I'm pretty experienced, but I'm nevertheless a hobbyist. So don't judge me there.

However, among a few things that I've never completely wrapped my head around are the concepts of constness and function argument formatting. Allow me to start by introducing my coding style, which in most cases is geared towards clarity and minimal clutter.

#define IN
#define OUT
//this is a hypothetical function that serves no practical purpose
void BuildMatrix(IN IModel * model, IN IMatrix4x4 matSrc, OUT IMatrix4x4& matDst);

I would go about calling this function as:

IModel model;
IMatrix4x4 matSrc;
IMatrix4x4 matDst;

BuildMatrix(&model, matSrc, matDst);

Needless to say, this is simple and it works. I doesn't incorporate any constness or unnecessary referencing and hence in my view has fewer things to type and has visually less clutter.

As an alternative, someone else (whom I expect to either have a different coding style, more experience or different preferences) might write something like this and call it accordingly:

void BuildMatrix(const IModel& skeletons, const IMatrix4x4& matSrc, IMatrix4x4& matDst);

IModel model;
IMatrix4x4 matSrc;
IMatrix4x4 matDst;
BuildMatrix(model, matSrc, matDst);

Two questions: