Need MAJOR help please!

Started by
1 comment, last by kreig9 12 years, 3 months ago
I am a 2nd year programmer in a computer tech class in school. I need help in a couple of areas, and any help is appreciated!

mcGrass1.addEventListener(

How would I make it so that when one of my objects touch another, it moves to another frame? Need help finishing the above code.

if (mcMonster.hitTestObject(mcLine14)){
mcMonster.y -=20
}

Pretty much the same thing as above, but that it bounces off the "Line". The code above does not work.

function numberOne(low:Number=1, high:Number=99):Number
{
return Math.floor(Math.random() * (1+high-low)) + low;
}

Here, I am trying to generate a random number. But, I cant get it into a string so I can export it to a text box on another frame. Any ideas?

And lastly:

if numberOne + numberTwo == 100 >={
numberOne = 34 && numberTwo = 13

I am checking my two random numbers so as they dont equal over 100. It dosen't work. Any ideas?
Advertisement
>>How would I make it so that when one of my objects touch another, it moves to another frame?

The problem you are talking about in the first two items is called "Collision Response". Google for it. It can be tricky to solve, especially when objects are being pushed against other objects or into corners. Imagine fifty creatures in a long corridor, and you attempt to push them in deeper even though they are fully compressed into the corridor already. Good code can handle that.

>> I am trying to generate a random number. But, I cant get it into a string so I can export it to a text box on another frame. Any ideas?

Your solution for the first part is very close. Why are you generating a floating point number and then casting to an int? Just use an int directly:

Random rand;
return rand.nextInt(max - min + 1) + min

As for getting it to a string, Java's string classes provide many ways to do it. I'm sure you can find one or two through your IDE's autocomplete, or the web, or a book on the subject.