• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
PureSnowX

[SFML][C++] Freeing RenderWindow pointer memory

This topic is 2521 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm kinda new to C++ and SFML and I was just woundering if their is a special way to "delete" SFML objects.
Or is it okey to use the normal delete keyword ?

Example:

sf::RenderWindow *renderwindow = new sf::RenderWindow();
delete renderwindow;

Advertisement
Most of SFML, including sf::RenderWindow, is RAII. This means whenever it goes out of scope, it cleans up itself.

Example:

void myFunc() //myFunc() begins a 'scope', and that scope ends when the function ends.
{
sf::RenderWindow window1(...);

if(....) //An if() statement begins another scope, which ends when the if() statement ends.
{
sf::RenderWindow window2(...);
} //'window2' goes out of scope, and is cleaned up automaticly.

} //'window1' goes out of scope, and is cleaned up automaticly.

If you use 'new', you better have a good reason for doing so. wink.png
'new' basically tells C++, "Forget your stupid scope cleanup! I'm going to handle it myself!"
Anything you new, you have to delete.

Since sf::RenderWindow, being a well-designed C++ class, handles it's own new-ing, and upon destruction, handles it's own delete-ing, you don't have to worry about it, as long as you actually understand scope and class constructors/destructors.

If you manually 'new' sf::RenderWindow, you are saying:
You: "[color=#008080]Compiler! Make me a new sf::RenderWindow!"

• RenderWindow: "[color=#8b4513]Compiler! Make me a new [...all the data that RenderWindow needs...]"
    (and later:)
    You: "[color=#008080]Compiler! Delete me a "sf::RenderWindow!"
    RenderWindow: "[color=#8b4513]Compiler! Delete [...all the data that RenderWindow uses internally...]"