• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Arhan Bakan

trying to find a good subject for graduation project

This topic is 2507 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello there. I'm new to gamedev.net. My name is Arhan. I'm a senior student in Computer Science and I want to take a graduation project that would help me get better at any subject that is related to game development.

I'm doing some research on the internet to come up with a few ideas before my winter break ends. The possibilities are endless, but I need more opinion on what subject to choose, and more importantly, how to fill the subject in order to finish a satisfying project at the end of my two-semester, 9-month timetable.

I have one idea that might be appropriate for a graduation project and I'm explaining it below. Feel free to offer and explain more features for it.

• A pathfinding program that supports multiple algorithms, multiple tile variations (tiles, hexagons, etc.), dynamic changes in the puzzle (sudden changes in obstacles) and reporting capabilities that can compare the algorithms by giving out statistics. All within a fine looking GUI.

I'm listening to all the ideas I can get. Ideas different than the example above are welcome. I'm also thinking that I can try subjects like collision detection, procedural generation, subjects different than path-finding on artificial intelligence etc. Maybe something completely different.

Thanks for your answers and suggestions.

Advertisement
What topics interest you? Which ones would you prefer to work on? What do you have the most confidence in?

My advice is to make a list of ideas and then briefly break each of those ideas down. Figure out roughly how long you feel each idea would take to accomplish, double that, add a bit more time, and then see which ideas fit inside of your schedule.