• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
nuclear123

[D3D11] Filling a rectangle?

This topic is 2511 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i'm still rather new to direct x and i've currently just drawn a box on the screen. I'm wanting to FILL this rectangle in with a solid color but i'm unsure on how to perform this approach.

The box is being drawn with the following C++ code.

// Create Vertex Buffer
SVertex3 Vertex[] =
{
{ D3DXVECTOR3(0.8f, 0.8f, 0.0f), D3DXCOLOR(1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f) },
{ D3DXVECTOR3(-0.8f, 0.8f, 0.0f), D3DXCOLOR(0.5f, 0.5f, 0.5f, 0.5f) },
{ D3DXVECTOR3(-0.8f, -0.8f, 0.0f), D3DXCOLOR(0.5f, 0.5f, 0.5f, 0.5f) },
{ D3DXVECTOR3(0.8f, -0.8f, 0.0f), D3DXCOLOR(0.5f, 0.5f, 0.5f, 0.5f) }
};

// Create Index List
DWORD indexList[6] = {0, 1, 2, 3, 0}; // Box

m_pDeviceContext->IASetPrimitiveTopology(D3D11_PRIMITIVE_TOPOLOGY_LINESTRIP);
m_pDeviceContext->DrawIndexed(5, 0, 0);

Advertisement
To draw solid triangles instead of lines change the primitive topology to a triangle list (or triangle strip). You'll also need a new index buffer for that topology. Also, by default, triangles are only rendered if their vertices are in clockwise order on screen to avoid unnecessary rendering of the inside of a 3D model.

awesome thanks man got it working :) I now want to draw my box with just lines instead of having a filled in CENTER. The only way i can think of in doing this is to set the RasterizerStage to draw in wireframe. Is there another way to do this? Also I cant find any information on how to change the RasterizerStage's state within my effect file! thanks