• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Steno

C++ const

This topic is 2504 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all,

I was recently told (by a person of authority) not to use const qualifiers on anything that's not a reference or pointer. E.g.:

void SetX(const int _x);

In fact, I was pretty much told I was stupid for doing this when I asked why not. I'm not exactly what one would consider a noob to c++ since I've been using it professionally for about 5 years now, but I do learn new things every now and then. My understanding is that const is only used by the compiler (in this case g++) to flag for user errors and has no impact on the executable generated?

I've looked around but couldn't find anything one way or another. The only thing I can think of is saving 6 bytes on the git download. Anyone have anything better?

Advertisement
Well, the const in this case doesn't make sense. It means you are not allowed to modify the variable inside the function, but since it is a copy anyways, that restriction is unnecessary.

Whether a parameter in a prototype is const or not makes no difference whatsoever. Not to the compiler, not to someone trying to use your function or reading your code. So having it there only makes things less clear, since it's not customary and it might lead someone to believe it means something.

The way I program, most of my local variables are initialized when they are defined and their values never change, so I could make them all `const', and the compiler would tell me if I am accidentally changing one. But this is very rarely a mistake I make, and the overabundance of `const's would clutter the code and make it harder to read, so I don't do it.