• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Mike Coluzzi

Workflow

This topic is 2504 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So I'm new to the whole game design area, I have always had an interest. At school we have Mac Pro's with Maya,Mudbox,Unity as well as PC's with UDK. What would you guys say is a good workflow for game development. I have always had the question, do you texture in maya/mudbox or with in the game engines. I'm just look for incite on where to start and where to go.

Thanks

Advertisement
If you are looking to do "design" work, don't get bothered with the texturing of your models or even detailing them at all. Most design work can be done with nothing more than planes, cubes, wedges, cylinders and other simple shapes. For instance, when setting up a level/area and getting a general play through idea, most of the process starts with white rooming general layout. What I mean by this is you set down the ground and put a simple grid texture on it and get the grid lines to show up at say 1-5 meter intervals. With this, you have a reference for scale and you can start setting up things such as jump distances over items, general ideas of where to place mobs, hide items, etc. Use very simple geometry for walls, buildings, etc at first and just work on the play through and game play aspects. The reason to do this first is that once you start detailing things out with complex and potentially custom built geometry/texturing it takes a much higher degree of work to fix any game play/fun issues with the final geometry.