• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
slayemin

New to network programming

This topic is 2496 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to network programming. I'm finding it quite fun. I've started working on a game in my spare time which is going to be multiplayer. I took a class in distributed programming so I have some experience in net coding, but never for a game. I don't know if I'm doing this right, but I've got something up and running and am able to send data back and forth between clients and servers as a proof of concept. I'd like some feedback on whether I'm doing this right or if there are easier ways to do this...

The game is a turn based strategy game built in C# using XNA. Latency isn't going to be an issue. I'm going with a client/server model using TCP/IP as the network protocol. I don't have an internet connection on my development computer, so I can't use the built-in net coding from XNA but I'd like to support it some time in the future. I've decided to create a network "layer" which abstracts out the nuts and bolts of how data is sent. I can switch between Windows Live and the TcpStream methods without having to rewrite game logic. I'm guessing based on sample code that the built-in XNA network code is a lot easier to work with. With the more 'raw' C# network IO, I have to convert all of my data into byte arrays before putting it on the wire.