I want to make a game

Started by
19 comments, last by menyo 12 years, 2 months ago
I always learn some aspects of a game program, and now I want to make a game so that I could really apply what i learn. But I have no experience, so if i want to make a game(FPS) like CS.

How could I begin it?
Advertisement
You have, atleast 3 options:

1) Learn how to program using a general purpose programming language (a FPS is not a beginner project, start with something less complex)
2) Mod an existing FPS game (Exact steps and level of difficulty here depends on the game you start from and your exact goal)
3) Use a high level game engine such as UDK or Unity (This still requires that you learn how to program to some extent but you should be able to go directly for that FPS goal and simply learn as you go, both engines have plenty of getting started documentation and tutorials on their respective websites)
[size="1"]I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!
Thank you, SimonForsman.

Do you think the samples in DirectX SDK are worth delving?
SOS
The DirectX samples are worth looking at if you want to get into graphics programming, I'd strongly suggest that you get a solid grasp of programming before you bother with DirectX though as it is not an API suitable for beginners.
Thank you.

The DirectX samples are worth looking at if you want to get into graphics programming, I'd strongly suggest that you get a solid grasp of programming before you bother with DirectX though as it is not an API suitable for beginners.

Now i work with early DirectX9(9.0 2002) version, the samples in C++ directory include just not enough explanation, how could I learn it?
SOS
This is not a chatroom don't bump your posts with a "SOS" after mearly 20 minutes, answers can take several hours or even a day or two here.

Google DirectX tutorials or buy a book on DirectX.
I have a question: