• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
faeX

HLSL Shader: Color by angle

This topic is 2500 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi community,

as I'm new to shader programing this question might be pretty easy to solve. :D

What I want to have is like this:
The shader gets a light direction, the camera-position and a texture containing the color that should be drawn depending on the angle between (pixelpos - camerapos) and light direction. Pixelpos stands for the absolute position of the untransformed pixel in 3d space. The first step simply would be to calculate the brightness depending on that angle. In a next step I can think about using colors from the texture. But first of all I want the angle thing solved. It is necessary that the angle is calculated for every pixel individually (in the pixel shader). But i have no clue how to surrender the world position and the projected position to the pixel shader. :/

I already have read through a few HLSL tutorials so far and I have to admit that I haven't unterstood everything... For instance I haven't understood so far which roles the rasterizer and the interpolator play in detail. Furthermore I'd like to know which values the interpolator uses and what data it gives to the pixel shader. I tried to play around with some example shaders to figure that out, but the results just confused me... :(

I hope you have unterstood my problem. :) Sorry if my English hinders from unterstanding.
Thanks!

faeX

Advertisement
You could just translate your camera position and light position (and direction or whatever) into the same space the vertex is in when sent to the pixel shader by multiplying them with the WorldViewProjection matrix, then send them to the pixel shader