• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Jonazz

SDL collision help

This topic is 2492 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi
I am completely new to programming but i am trying to learn SDL and C++. I have run into a problem , i have got two players who is going to collect points while a "monster" is bouncing around and they must avoid it. The number of monsters is going to increase by time.

The problem is that the collision between the players and monsters isn't working.
I have pasted the parts of the code that i think might be the problem. It is not the whole program.
Sorry for the spelling , English isn't my first language.

globals.h

extern SDL_Rect mob;

globals.cpp

SDL_Rect mob;

functions.cpp

bool check_collision( SDL_Rect A, SDL_Rect B )
{
//The sides of the rectangles
int leftA, leftB;
int rightA, rightB;
int topA, topB;
int bottomA, bottomB;
//Calculate the sides of rect A
leftA = A.x;
rightA = A.x + A.w;
topA = A.y;
bottomA = A.y + A.h;
//Calculate the sides of rect B
leftB = B.x;
rightB = B.x + B.w;
topB = B.y;
bottomB = B.y + B.h;
//If any of the sides from A are outside of B
if( bottomA <= topB )
{
return false;
}
if( topA >= bottomB )
{
return false;
}
if( rightA <= leftB )
{
return false;
}
if( leftA >= rightB )
{
return false;
}
//If none of the sides from A are outside B
return true;
}

dot.h // The players

private:
SDL_Rect box;

dot.cpp

Dot::Dot(int x, int y)
{
box.x = x;
box.y = y;
box.w =DOT_WIDTH;
box.h =DOT_HEIGHT;
xVel = 0;
yVel = 0;
dot_score = 0;
hp=3;
}
if (check_collision( box, mob)==true)
{
box.y =240;
box.x =320;
hp--;
dot_score-=5;
}

enemy.h // The monsters

class Enemy
{
private:
SDL_Rect mob;
}

enemy.cpp

Enemy::Enemy(int x, int y)
{
mob.x=x;
mob.y=y;
mob.w =DOT_WIDTH;
mob.h =DOT_HEIGHT;
xVel = 10;
yVel = 10;
}

Advertisement