• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
cifa

Some very dumb question from a dreamer

This topic is 2476 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there,

I'm currently a student in Computer Science at La Sapienza University in Rome, my goal and dream is to get into the industry so I've decided to get a MSc in Hull after my BSc. However my ideas are still very very confused, so I'm asking you some very very dumb questions (of which I may know the answer, but I want to have my ideas clear) :

1- I've noticed that Graphics Programming is actually the core of games programming, but, even if I've a vague idea, I would like to ask if you can expose me a couple of example to understand what is the job of a graphics programmer.

1b- This is a very dumb one; What is the edge between an artists and a graphics programmer ? What artistic skills should a programmer have ?

2- What skills I've to develop from now on ? I'm currently learning C++ (at University we've done a bit of C and Java) and I've heard that also mathematical skills are fundamental (basically linear algebra ? Which other maths ?)... what else ?

I'm so sorry if those are stupid questions, and probably I've also answers for those, but I want to make my mind clear and only experts can help me out.

Oh, and also sorry for my English, I beg you to correct what's wrong.

Thank you so much!

Francesco

Advertisement

[font=Arial, sans-serif]An artist (as opposed to an art tech or a tech artist) does not need to know programming.[/font]
[font=Arial, sans-serif]A programmer does not need to know art, unless he's a "graphics programmer" as you said. [/font]
[font=Arial, sans-serif]Then he needs to know how graphics intersect code -- he doesn't need to be a Rembrandt himself. [/font]