• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
AlysiumX

Building my first game(Game code layout)

This topic is 2466 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all,

I am currently working on my first game. Being my first, of course its a pretty simple concept. What I am really focusing on currently is the over all layout of the code. I am new to game programming but not programming in general. Anyways what I am doing with my GameStateManger currently is either genius or complete stupid so I wanted to hear other opinion to see if they think it is good or not, so here it is.

I current have built a GameStateManager class. Now for the game states I am building an individual class per game state. The logic behind this is that I will clear one game state out of memory before going to the next thus keeping the game running smoothly. That sounds good in theory but I am interested to hear if I am not looking at things correctly or just over complicating it.

example :
GameState manager
public static void UpdateGameState(){
switch(state){
case OPENING:
Opening.Update();
break;
case TITLE:
Title.Update();
}
}

Opening && Title Classes
public static void Update(){

}

p.s. I know at this point it won't really matter because the game is simple, but I would like to scale up as I create game and don't want to eventually hit a wall, so its good to know this stuff before hand.

Thanks

Advertisement
That design actually looks pretty similar to what I did for a small text adventure project that I worked on a while back.

I suppose that it would depend on how you handle it... what kind of a game is it? Will it have graphics? How do you handle events in the game? If something in a room changes, how do you keep track of that?

I can tell you how I handled the text adventure: