• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
striderx240

I need to make a game. ANY GAME for beginners

This topic is 2342 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Could anyone recommend some resources that I could possibly use to help me program a simple game. So far I've only taken two C++ classes in college and I'm eager to make a simple game because right now I feel like I can only make random programs that serve no purpose. I'm still new at this, but any simple game would suffice, such as solitaire or snake would be cool. To be frank, It feels like I'm losing faith in the idea that I can program video games; when I look at source codes of other games such as Mario or Tetris clones I feel so flabbergasted at how someone can create that. Hopefully a simple game could boost my confidence.

Advertisement
Check out SFML. Since you've taken two C++ classes, it should be fairly easy for you to understand things, and you could have a basic prototype out within a few days.

I would say start with Pong. IMO that's probably about as simple of a game as you can get, and would be a great game to get your feet wet.

Next up, you need to choose which library or engine to use. The two big libraries for C/C++ are SDL and SFML. SDL has been around for a lot longer, and thus has a lot more documentation and tutorials on the net. SFML is a bit newer, but is still very well documented and the number of tutorials for it is growing. I would personally steer away from the engines for a bit until you have a bit of experience, but if you're curious/adventurous, just google "C++ game engine," there are a ton out there ;)

The hardest part of your experience is probably going to be setting up these libraries so you can actually use them. For SFML 2.0, this video helped me out a lot with setting up things in Visual Studio:
[media]
[/media]