• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
barraclough

is this good for a beginner

This topic is 2270 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there, as i new member i thought i should introduce myself. My name is stephen , i attended college for a short period doing games development. Unfortunately the college i attended was very under equip and i hardly learned basics never mind anything else.

I got to play a little with c++,java, dark basic,html, visual basic. I also got to play with some 3d programs like 3ds max, blender, Photoshop.

It really interested me, and i bought a few books. But finding it hard to read them, mainly the examples, and thought it would be kl to be taught like a college y a real person.
b
I have came across a website called 3dbuzz.com. I was wondering it anyone else here is a member, as a beginner i was wondering if it was worth the monthly cost, as i plan to stick with it.

And they have a number of videos for a number of platforms. Xna, unity and some others. Id like to accomplish making a small game.

I dont plan on anything crazy or perfect. And i understand its not easy no matter what your creating. But im willing to give it a good shot.

I look forward to any advice given. Thank you in advance

Advertisement
Hi Stephen,

$35 a month is a bit steep for someone who's just getting into game development. Although, I'm not necessarily saying that it's a bad idea, you might want to be sure it's something you really want to do first. Lazy Foo has a a set of free C++ tutorials that give a fairly good feel for the basics of a lot of game development concepts like collision detection, input handing and even simple multi-threaded processing. It's a great place to start learning and if you get stuck with one of the lessons, there are plenty of people on this site who can help you out.