• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

MMO proceeding actions design pattern

This topic is 2246 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

For the moment, i am studying Photon, with its Operation and Events.
I was looking at their sample for Login, InterestAera subscibing, etc...

But i would like to find some design-pattern or algorithms for solving "action flow" in a kind of MMO, in which every action is long to proceed - 1s for the quickest one. Common actions will take place in around 3s to ... no limit.
So it's far from FPS requirements.

But how to organize threads, lists of actions, cancelling actions, and resolving perhaps actions zone by zone, etc...
I do not speak here about communication with the client - this is cover by photo API - but how to organize data flow action for a good response with thousands players ?

Advertisement
Actions don't actually take 1 second to process. Instead, the effects of the action are scheduled on a timeline. When you say "perform action X" you really mean "try to look for a target 500 milliseconds from now, then start particle system X 750 milliseconds from now, then affect the targets hitpoints by -20 at 1300 milliseconds from now, then shut off the particle system at 2600 milliseconds from now."

Whether it's in an MMO, or in an offline RPG, really doesn't matter -- the timing/timeline is the same. All you need to send to other viewers is usually the start of the action.

Organization of Threads:
This is really something complicated, the best solution is almost always to run just as many threads as you have cores on the machine and constanly feed them small sections of work.
Doing this is quite complex, implementing this in C/C++/C#/Java will be time consuming and you will likely spend much time finding bugs and doing optimization.