Game Design Theory (Youtube)

Started by
4 comments, last by Ronnie Mado Solbakken 12 years ago
(Edit: I've renamed the video series "Crude" to point out that I'm using a specific game idea of mine as a template)

I got this new video series on youtube that I encourage all designers and would-be designers to check out. I'm also open to input, and I'm looking into Gamedev.net (among other things) to learn even more about game design.

Crude #01 - Overview
[media]
[/media]

My plans are to become a professional game developer and earn my first million within the next 10 years. Big plans, but it's not about reaching them, as much as how much farther you can get from just having them. So I need to soak up knowledge like a sponge and get things organized.

Thanks for any input on the videos and this thread.

Cheers,
DrMadolite

- Awl you're base are belong me! -

- I don't know, I'm just a noob -

Advertisement
So, I've completed 11 videos by now and still going strong. The last videos are more specific to my game idea (a post-apocalyptic Action RPG), but I figured it'd be a great approach to sharing game design theory, because you'll get an idea of how it actually plays out. Anyways, I hope you like my videos, I'm not getting a lot of feedback so please rate and subscribe.

Thanks.

Hi Mado,

I started to watch the videos yesterday but I've only watched the first one and a half so far.

It inspired me to put some more focus on documenting game design rather than just coding the prototype straight off, but at the same time I felt that the videos should be shorter and more "to the point" with clear goals. This is just my first impression but I'll have a look through the series and see if I maintain the same opinion.

Regardless of this I think it's a very nice effort and contribution to release the videos. I make video tutorials myself (for making music) and I know there is a lot of time and planning that goes into making them.