void MyMethod( int a, int b, int c);
}
void main()
{
CMyNextClass* pMyClass = new CMyNextClass();

pMyclass->MyMethod( 1, 2, 3);
}

[/CODE]

I get an compiler error saying MyMethod function does not take 3 arguments.
I am very new to C++ and classes and is still in learning process.
I am trying to google if what i am doing violates C++ rule but i can't find an answer. I appreciate if someone can help.
Thanks!

wqking    761
Class declaration needs ending semicolon!
And it's pMyClass, not pMyclass

class CMyClass
{
public:
void MyMethod( int a, int b);
}[size=6][b];[/b][/size]
class CMyNextClass: public CMyClass
{
public:
void MyMethod( int a, int b, int c);
}[size=6][b];[/b][/size]
void main()
{
CMyNextClass* pMyClass = new CMyNextClass();

pMy[size=6][b]C[/b][/size]lass->MyMethod( 1, 2, 3);
}

SiCrane    11839
That should actually give you a "class does not take two arguments" error when called with two arguments. Three arguments should be fine. If you want it to take two arguments then you would insert a [tt]using CMyClass::MyMethod;[/tt] in the CMyNextClass definition.

GodFear    151
ok my bad, i really didn't copy and paste my code. instead i just manually typed it.
The real code has semi colons at the ending as you have shown.

Also pMyClass->MyMethod( 1, 2, 3 ) is what i actually have in my code.

The compiler error i am getting is that it says that "MyMethod" does not take 3 arguments. It seems like it is expecting the MyMethod function declared and defined in the base class CMyClass.
I am not sure if i am violating the rules of function overloading in my code, but i cannot figure it out.

wqking    761
[quote name='GodFear' timestamp='1333374552' post='4927486']
ok my bad, i really didn't copy and paste my code. instead i just manually typed it.
The real code has semi colons at the ending as you have shown.

Also pMyClass->MyMethod( 1, 2, 3 ) is what i actually have in my code.