Sign in to follow this  

A* Pathfinding (Novice Programmer)

This topic is 2078 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

**Edit**: I've decided to go through "Programming Game AI by Example" by Buckland and revisit this problem later

Hello Everyone,
This is my first time posting on this site, so I hope I haven't messed anything up yet. With that being said, I'm a novice programmer just getting into AI. I'm working on a game right now in SDL and the D programming language. My game is a basic 2D shooter, that uses tiled as the map editor. I'm at the point where I'm trying to implement A* in my game. I've looked at several online tutorials, and explanations and I've also been following Millington's book "Artificial Intelligence for Game". While I feel I have a decent grasp of the theory behind A*, I'm having trouble converting this to working code.

My basic approach I am taking is trying to implement his Node Array A* method. I'm using a struct to represent my nodes, with position (index on the map and pixels), parent, scores and it's category. I decided to use category which represents what list the node is on and the possible values are open, closed or uninvited. When a node is determined to be unvisited, I create a reference, which holds the nodes array index on the PathGraph and the f score which is then stored on the openlist.

My open list is implemented as a simple min heap, in the regular fashion with the lowest f score at the front.

The problem I have is this: