Sign in to follow this  

File encryption and authentication

This topic is 2102 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new to the entirety of encryption, and only know a few little bits of information - rough things like what RSA, SHA, etc. are.

I've read and gone through using OpenSSL on the command line to produce private keys, public keys, and encrypting/decrypting files. I've seen creating hashes and signing, as well. Unfortunately, it's not all meshing together in my head just right.

The situation which I want to (reasonably) secure is:
I have a set of servers which have a private key shared between them. One server will encrypt a file, pass it to the client, and the client will carry it to a different server, where the file is decrypted and (I assume this is necessary?) checked for authenticity.

The encryption part seems easy enough, run it through my key on both ends to get the information. The authentication, however, is what confuses me - what is the purpose of the hashes and signing? If they have access to the private key, they can encrypt anything to look like it was sent by the first server - so why bother with that when I could just encrypt and decrypt the file.

I've been having a hard time getting straight answers from the few IRC channels I've talked to over this, and I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around cryptography in general. Hopefully this falls within this forum - if not, I'd appreciate it to be moved where necessary.

Thanks for any help you guys can provide!

Cryptography by itself is a difficult subject. It involves diabolical mathematics beyond the skills of most normal people.