• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

How do I calculate if I should be adding or subtracting rotation?

This topic is 2104 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

(I'm an XNA/C# Newbie).

I currently have an Asteroids-style character that is controlled by the mouse.

However, I'm having an issue when my ship's movement would have it turn across the "west" line.

[img]http://oi43.tinypic.com/mvlufm.jpg[/img]

This is my current code for rotating:

[CODE]
if (destAngle - rotation <= 0)
{
rotation -= movingRotationSpeed;
}
else
{
rotation += movingRotationSpeed;
}
[/CODE]

However, an issue arises when the mouse crosses over the "west" line (with respect to the sprite). The destAngle changes from -3.140 to +3.140 (radians/PI). If I'm going clockwise at the time, the ship will then do a massive anti-clockwise movement (and vice verse).

What computation should I be doing to determine if the ship should move clockwise or anti-clockwise given I have its current angle and the destination angle?

Here is my entire code segment for that method:

[CODE]
MouseState mouseState = Mouse.GetState();
Vector2 mouseLoc = new Vector2(mouseState.X, mouseState.Y);

Vector2 direction = position - mouseLoc;
destAngle = (float)(Math.Atan2(-direction.Y, -direction.X));

if (mouseState.LeftButton == ButtonState.Pressed)
{
Console.WriteLine(rotation + " + " + destAngle);

{
}
else
{
}

if (position.X == mouseState.X && position.Y == mouseState.Y)
{ }
else
{
//The ship always moves "forward".
position.X += speed * (float)(Math.Cos(rotation));
position.Y += speed * (float)(Math.Sin(rotation));
}
}
[/CODE]

Advertisement