Sign in to follow this  
iOBV

I want to make a 2.5D Shooter

Hello,

I am new to game programming I have little to no programming experince. I would really like to learn how to make games; the thought of someone playing something I made is exciting. I know what it takes to make a game and I am not looking to create a game and be at the top of the charts. Now my question is, what language would you recomend for a new game developer.

Another question is should I use a game engine or just a library. I want to really understand what is happening in my game and from my understanding when you have a game engine you don't really understand your game as well.

Also I am 14 years old, so please no commerical software as my game will most likely travel no farther then a few of my friends computers.

I would like to mention I know the basics of programming in general. I know what varibles, booleans, strings and that type of stuff are.

Thanks,
Tyler

If you're asking what language a new game developer should use, I would reply "whatever language it is you already have experience in," seeing as you say you are already familiar with some programming data types and other programming aspects.

What language is that, by the way?

Given the thread title i'd strongly recommend Unity3D, it is fairly easy to get started with and advanced enough to allow you to do pretty much anything. (The free version has some limitations but its nothing you'll have to worry about at this point).

If you really don't want to use an engine i'd suggest that you forget about the 2.5D shooter for now and start with something like Pong instead, (It is a good game to start with even if you are using an engine as it covers most of the basics and can be completed in an hour or two)