Hexwar Project. Contribute. Criticise

Started by
13 comments, last by StratfordCanning 11 years, 11 months ago
Evening All.

About me: I am a database professional and have worked in the IT (accounts not games!) industry for an embarrassingly long time before downloading a free IDE, going to the File menu and selecting 'New Project...'.

I've written a strategy hexgrid game and would like to invite you to take a look. It is inspired by playing a (free) game called Wesnoth. Wesnoth is great; the artwork and music are fantastic, but I found some aspects of the gameplay frustrating so have tried to write my own.

Turn-based board games sometimes hinge on whose turn it happens to be at a crucial moment. This can be annoying so I have tried to use a 'simultaneous move' model. Also, I agree with CS Lewis about the 'f***ing elves' and think more imagination is needed in providing the environment for games.

I am pleased to have written something from scratch that is playable and want to take the idea further. Get involved if you want. I have been browsing gamedev.net for a while and it seems a friendly international place to form a dialogue.

It is free here, called Hexwar:

http://www.moonsch.c...dministrator

Please read the README.doc in the downloaded ZIP.

It's Windows C# and SQL Server (these are what I have to hand). You'll need DirectX to get it to work. All this should be downloadable for free.

Please bring any problems to my attention here. Bear in mind that I have very little experience in developing graphical applications and am a one-man-band, so be kind.
Advertisement
I have added a simple AI opponent. Very simple (the idiot just chases you round the screen Benny Hill style, and isn't too good at that for some reason).

http://www.moonsch.com/?creator&administrator&20
Crashes when I start up PLAYABLE_COMPONENTS/hexwar.exe. Just brings up the message "hexwar.exe has stopped working...".