Sign in to follow this  
Steve Relf

A simple problem...

Hi all,

Im fairly new to C#, having spent most of my time working with Perl.

Im having an issue and i hope somone can shed some light.

I have the below block of code which should make CurrentSector be filled with the variables i Pass in. But, for some reason, this is not happening, and i cant work out why.

[CODE]
CurrentSector = new GenerateSector(startsector.SectorName, startsector.MaxAlliedFleets, startsector.MaxPirateFleets, startsector.MaxCivFleets, startsector.SectorSizeWidth, startsector.SectorSizeHeight);
[/CODE]

GenerateSector.cs
[CODE]
using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
namespace FleetCommand
{
public class GenerateSector
{
public string SectorName = null;
public int MaxAlliedFleets = 0;
public int MaxPirateFleets = 0;
public int MaxCivFleets = 0;
public int SectorSizeWidth = 0;
public int SectorSizeHeight = 0;
public GenerateSector(string _SectorName, int _MaxAlliedFleets, int _MaxPirateFleets, int _MaxCivFleets, int _SectorSizeWidth, int _SectorSizeHeight)
{
string SectorName = _SectorName;
int MaxAlliedFleets = _MaxAlliedFleets;
int MaxPirateFleets = _MaxPirateFleets;
int MaxCivFleets = _MaxCivFleets;
int SectorSizeWidth = _SectorSizeWidth;
int SectorSizeHeight = _SectorSizeHeight;

}
}
}
[/CODE]

When i run the above code, and step through
[CODE]
string SectorName = _SectorName;
int MaxAlliedFleets = _MaxAlliedFleets;
int MaxPirateFleets = _MaxPirateFleets;
int MaxCivFleets = _MaxCivFleets;
int SectorSizeWidth = _SectorSizeWidth;
int SectorSizeHeight = _SectorSizeHeight;
[/CODE]
The above veriables are set, but when i get out of the routine, the veriable CurrentSector, shows null, and zero's.

Any ideas, I bet its something stupid, but i have now ben staring at it for so long, i cant think about it any more...

Do i need a get and set...?