Sign in to follow this  

Which path should I take?

This topic is 2051 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Please forgive me, I'm about to make the usual thread that I'm sure all you regulars hate. I'm new here by the way. First time posting, first time lurking. [img]http://public.gamedev.net//public/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.png[/img]

I'm a college student, majoring in Computer Science and minoring in Graphic Design. I just finished my first programming class, and I learned a lot. I feel solid in C++, dealing with file i/o, structures, looping, and the like. I'm not claiming to be advanced, but my foundation is great. I want to learn the art of game development, and I have years to learn and gain experience.
My problem is I feel like I'm jumping in the middle of the ocean with no floaties. I'm a Mac user, I use Xcode and I've learned how to link OpenGL and GLUT. I watched a few tutorials, created a few shapes, but I couldn't do it again without a guide. I understand HOW OpenGL works, but it's going to take some time learning the library's functions.

My question for you guys is where should I begin? Should I go back to the basics and learn another language, such as C# or Python? Should I blow the dust off my old Dell desktop, and learn DirectX? Tutorials for OpenGL on Mac are hard to find. Where did you experienced users begin, after learning the basics of your chosen language?

Nothing specific about mac I can tell you, but don't expect to remember all the functions by heart if you just started programming with OpenGL. All you really need to do is think. You know how to draw a shape by passing vertex data to OpenGL. If you know how to draw a triangle, with some thinking (and knowing about the model format) you can probably think of a way to draw them in a fashion so you get the proper model.