Setting up a website - Questions about registaring domains

Started by
5 comments, last by Servant of the Lord 11 years, 11 months ago
Hey, I'm setting up several websites. I'm new to web development.
The websites will be mostly static, using WordPress.

I'm thinking of using HostGator for hosting (Any problems with them? They seem to have a good reputation). However, I was also thinking of registering more domain names than I'm currently needing (I was thinking of registering about 7 or 8 that I plan to use in the future (year or two from now), only three will I use in the present (I'm setting up a site not just for me, but another for a family member at the same time).

I was planning on registering the domains under a separate company, just incase I migrate off of HostGator in the future (i.e. keeping the registar, but switching to a new host). Is this a good idea? Am I being paranoid?

Any suggestions on where I should register domains? GoDaddy seems to have a somewhat negative reputation, despite being the largest. Have you had any problems with them? Who would you recommend?
Advertisement
I was planning on registering the domains under a separate company, just incase I migrate off of HostGator in the future (i.e. keeping the registar, but switching to a new host). Is this a good idea? Am I being paranoid?

The URL and the host are completely independent from each other, if you want to change the host, you simply change to which server the URL points.
Don't pay much attention to "the hedgehog" in my nick, it's just because "Sik" was already taken =/ By the way, Sik is pronounced like seek, not like sick.