Use of Index Buffer Objects with models

Started by
2 comments, last by sublixt 11 years, 11 months ago
I was wondering what is the advantage of using a Vertex Buffer Object with Index Buffer Object in OpenGL in respect to rendering models. From the way I've done it, more memory is being used because with the .obj file format has vertices, vertex normals, and vertex textures all split up then brought togethor in faces. The way I do VBO and IBO I use the glVertexAttribPointer function and define offsets for the vertex, vertex normal, and vertex texture which is not the way that the .obj file seperates its data. This, for me, makes the VBO IBO pair less efficient that just using a VBO. Is this the only way to do it or is there another way to use an IBO to make it act more in the way an obj file works?
P.S. sorry if my wording is bad I'm still learning OpenGL and I don't know the terminology very well.
Advertisement
First off, .obj files should have nothing to do with the way you render your models. Normaly you import your mesh data in whatever format you like and convert them to a data structure which fits your rendering requirements best.

VBO and IBO are just ways to push your vertex and triangle (indicies) data on the GPU for faster rendering.
You're making the classic mistake of assuming that memory usage is the primary, or even a significant, indicator of performance; understandable enough because it's something that's directly measurable.

That's not the case at all.

The primary bottleneck when transforming vertexes is - guess what? - transforming vertexes, so it follows that the less of them you have to transform the faster you'll run. Other bottlenecks include the amount of data you need to send from system memory to GPU memory and the number of draw-calls you need to make.

This is where index buffers come in.